2013 Annual Meeting

May 20-22, Washington, D.C.


Presentation of Distinguished Service Award to Geoffrey C. Hazard, Jr.

Professor Geoffrey C. Hazard, Jr., served as Director of the American Law Institute from 1984 until 1999, and, as Director Emeritus, continues to serve on the Institute's council. Considered a leading expert in the fields of civil procedure and legal ethics, Professor Hazard is the author or coauthor of 16 books and his writings are a mainstay in American legal education. Prior to his 15-year tenure as ALI's Director, Professor Hazard had been Reporter for the ALI Restatement Second of Judgments. He was also Reporter for the American Bar Association's Model Rules of Professional Conduct (promulgated in 1983) and draftsman for the ABA Model Code of Judicial Conduct (promulgated in 1972).

The Distinguished Service Award will be presented by Judge Anthony J. Scirica of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit where he served as Chief Judge from 2004-2010.


Presentation of Friendly Medal to William H. Webster

Judge William H. Webster's extraordinary career in the law includes service as the Director of both the Federal Bureau of Investigation (1978-87) and the Central Intelligence Agency (1987-91). He also served as a federal judge on both the Eastern District of Missouri and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit. At age 89, he continues to serve as Chairman of the Homeland Security Advisory Council.

Judge Webster is the recipient of the Henry J. Friendly Medal, which recognizes contributions to the law in the tradition of Judge Friendly and the American Law Institute. Established in 1987 by Judge Friendly's former law clerks, the Friendly Medal has been awarded on just eight occasions to 10 individuals. Recent recipients include former U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor and former Attorney General Nicholas deB. Katzenbach. The chair of ALI's Awards Committee, Judge Mary M. Schroeder of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, said the award "recognizes a colleague of legendary intelligence and integrity whose contributions to our profession are surpassed only by his contributions to our nation as a whole."

The Friendly Medal will be presented by Judge Merrick B. Garland of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.